Skip to main content
Humanities LibreTexts

9.6: Notes

  • Page ID
  • \( \newcommand{\vecs}[1]{\overset { \scriptstyle \rightharpoonup} {\mathbf{#1}} } \) \( \newcommand{\vecd}[1]{\overset{-\!-\!\rightharpoonup}{\vphantom{a}\smash {#1}}} \)\(\newcommand{\id}{\mathrm{id}}\) \( \newcommand{\Span}{\mathrm{span}}\) \( \newcommand{\kernel}{\mathrm{null}\,}\) \( \newcommand{\range}{\mathrm{range}\,}\) \( \newcommand{\RealPart}{\mathrm{Re}}\) \( \newcommand{\ImaginaryPart}{\mathrm{Im}}\) \( \newcommand{\Argument}{\mathrm{Arg}}\) \( \newcommand{\norm}[1]{\| #1 \|}\) \( \newcommand{\inner}[2]{\langle #1, #2 \rangle}\) \( \newcommand{\Span}{\mathrm{span}}\) \(\newcommand{\id}{\mathrm{id}}\) \( \newcommand{\Span}{\mathrm{span}}\) \( \newcommand{\kernel}{\mathrm{null}\,}\) \( \newcommand{\range}{\mathrm{range}\,}\) \( \newcommand{\RealPart}{\mathrm{Re}}\) \( \newcommand{\ImaginaryPart}{\mathrm{Im}}\) \( \newcommand{\Argument}{\mathrm{Arg}}\) \( \newcommand{\norm}[1]{\| #1 \|}\) \( \newcommand{\inner}[2]{\langle #1, #2 \rangle}\) \( \newcommand{\Span}{\mathrm{span}}\)\(\newcommand{\AA}{\unicode[.8,0]{x212B}}\)

    1. Nyanaponika Thera, The Heart of Buddhist Meditation: A Handbook of Mental Training Based on the Buddha's way of Mindfulness (New York: Samuel Weiser, 1962), pp. 97-99.
    2. The Eight Precepts are (1) not to harm sentient beings, (2) not to steal, (3) not to engage in sexual misconduct, (4) not to lie, (5) not to drink alcohol, (6) not to eat after midday, (7) not to watch secular entertainments or use perfume or ornaments, and (8) not to use a luxurious bed or to sleep indulgently.
    3. I.e., the developmental stages of samatha.
    4. The Threefold Refuge is a formalized entrustment of oneself to the Buddha, the Dhamma, and the Sangha.
    5. The six sense bases include the eye and visible forms, the ear and sounds, the nose and smells, the tongue and flavours, the body and tactile objects, and the mind and mindobjects.
    6. Bishop Kallistos, The Power of the Name: The Jesus Prayer in Orthodox Spirituality (Oxford, England: Sisters of the Love of God Press, 1976); republished with North American spelling and punctuation in The Place of the Heart: An Introduction to Orthodox Spirituality by Elisabeth Behr-Sigel, trans. Stephen Bigham (Torrance, CA: Oakwood Publications, 1992), pp. 135-172. The quotations in the essay are fully referenced in footnotes, which are not reproduced here. The authors of the quotations that are mentioned in the footnotes are here placed in brackets. The main body of the book by Behr-Sigel gives an an analysis and historical overview of the development of "the prayer of the heart" in Orthodox spirituality from the early Church to the present century.
    7. See pp. 249 and 254.
    8. Instead of reproducing all the footnotes in the original text, the sources cited by Ware will be indicated by the name of the author only.
    9. The symbol Screen Shot 2019-12-13 at 11.59.25 PM.png refers to date of death.
    10. The Way of a Pilgrim, trans. R. M French (New York: Seabury, 1965).

    This page titled 9.6: Notes is shared under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license and was authored, remixed, and/or curated by Dale Cannon (Independent) via source content that was edited to the style and standards of the LibreTexts platform; a detailed edit history is available upon request.

    • Was this article helpful?