Skip to main content
Humanities LibreTexts

5.1: Readings

  • Page ID
    31069
  • On the Fur Industry:

    EMPTY CAGES – PART III SAYING AND DOING EMPTY CAGES – 5. What We Learn from Alice EMPTY CAGES – PART IV THE METAMORPHOSES EMPTY CAGES – 7. Turning Animals into Clothes

    OPTIONAL Reading & Viewing on the Fur Industry: Fur industry representatives:

    Fur Commission USA, a non-profit association representing over 600 mink farmers in the United States http://www.furcommission.com See especially the pages “Animal Rights versus Animal Welfare” and “Fur on Film”

    • Fur Information Council of America: www.fur.org/
    • National Animal Interest Alliance (defends all uses of animals, so relevant to all issues below also): www.naiaonline.org/about/index.htm

    Critics of the fur industry:

    On the Animal Agriculture Industries:

    EMPTY CAGES – 6. Turning Animals into Food

    ANIMAL LIBERATION – 3. Down on the Factory Farm ... or what happened to your dinner when it was still an animal ANIMAL LIBERATION – 4. Becoming a Vegetarian ... or how to produce less suffering and more food at a reduced cost to the environment

    ANIMALS LIKE US – Ch. 5. Using Animals for Food

    Gruen: 3. Eating animals (optional)

    Jan Narveson, “A Defense of Meat Eating” (2 pages): ethicsandanimals.googlepages.com/narveson.pdf (See Rachels and Regan’s discussions of contractarianism or the social contract from week one).

    Temple Grandin, “Thinking Like Animals” (3 pages; last 1⁄2 page is where the “ethics” is offered): ethicsandanimals.googlepages.com/grandin.pdf

    Ray Frey, “Utilitarianism and Vegetarianism Again: Protest or Effectiveness?”: ethicsandanimals.googlepages.com/frey-veg.pdf

    Optional: Peter Singer & Jim Mason, Ch. 17, “The Ethics of Eating Meat,” pp. 241- 273, from The Way We Eat: Why Our Food Choices Matter (Rodale 2006): ethicsandanimals.googlepages.com/way-we-eat.pdf

    Optional: The following sources, among others, are discussed in this chapter: Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s The River Cottage Meat Book: www.rivercottage.net/ (Amazon); Michael Pollan’s “An Animals Place” http://www.michaelpollan.com/article.php?id=55 and The Omnivore’s Dilemma www.michaelpollan.com/omnivore.php ; Roger Scruton’s Animal Rights and Wrongs www.roger-scruton.com/rs-books.html ; Gaverick Matheny, “Least Harm: A Defense of Vegetarianism,” www.jgmatheny.org/matheny%202003.pdf

    Recommended Reading & Viewing:
    Some advocates of animal agriculture:
    National Institute of Animal Agriculture: http://www.animalagriculture.org
    American Meat Institute: www.meatami.com/
    Animal Agriculture Alliance: http://www.animalagalliance.org
    “Best Food Nation,” www.bestfoodnation.com/

    National Chicken Council: www.nationalchickencouncil.com/
    US Poultry and Egg Association: http://poultryegg.org
    United Egg Producers: http://www.uepcertified.com/

    Contains VIDEO: The Veal Farm: http://www.vealfarm.com Contains VIDEO: “Dairy Farming Today”: http://www.dairyfarmingtoday.org

    National Pork Producers Council: www.nppc.org/public_policy/animal_health.html National Pork Board: http://www.pork.org, pork4kids.com/

    National Cattleman’s Association: http://beef.org and www.beeffrompasturetoplate.org/animalwelfare.aspx

    Advocates of non-factory-farm/intensive livestock production:
    Certified Humane: http://www.certifiedhumane.org
    Animal Compassion Foundation: www.animalcompassionfoundation.org

    Some critics of animal agriculture:
    Compassion Over Killing (http://cok.net): “Exposing routine cruelty in the chicken industry”: http://www.chickenindustry.com/
    Compassion Over Killing (http://cok.net): “Exposing the Truth about Eggs,” http://www.eggindustry.com/
    Compassionate Consumers’ film “Wegmans Cruelty”: http://WegmansCruelty.com
    Farm Sanctuary (http://farmsanctuary.org): http://factoryfarming.org
    Farmed Animal Net: http://farmedanimal.net/ (news service)
    HSUS: www.hsus.org/farm_animals/
    PETA: http://www.goveg.com/factoryFarming.asp
    United Poultry Concerns: http://www.upc-online.org/
    Vegan Outreach: www.veganoutreach.org/whyvegan/

    On vegetarian and veganism:
    American Dietetic Association’s Position Paper on Vegetarian Diets, JADA, June 2003 (Vol. 103, Issue 6, Pages 748-765): www.eatright.org/cps/rde/xchg/ada/hs.xsl/advocacy_933_ENU_HTML.htm
    Full article at ethicsandanimals.googlepages.com/ada-veg.pdf
    PCRM: http://pcrm.org/health/
    COK’s TryVeg.com page: http://www.tryveg.com

    PETA’s Go Veg page: http://GoVeg.com
    Vegan Outreach’s Vegan Health page: http://www.veganhealth.org/
    Peter Singer and Jim Mason, The Way We Eat: Why Our Food Choices Matter (Rodale, 2006). A recent discussion of the many ethical issues raised by animal agriculture and an evaluation of a range of responses to the issues.

    Matthew Halteman, “Compassionate Eating as Care of Creation,” on the intersection of animal ethics and faith issues (from a Christian perspective): www.hsus.org/religion/resources/compassionate_eating_as_care_.html
    Christian Vegetarian Association: http://www.all-creatures.org/cva/
    Jewish Vegetarians: http://www.jewishveg.com/

    • Was this article helpful?