Skip to main content
Humanities LibreTexts

Recommended Accompanying Resources

  • Page ID
    15408
  • 4

    Recommended Accompanying Resources

    Chapter One: Getting Started: Nine Muses

    Stafford, William. “A Way of Writing” ualr.edu/rmburns/rb/staffort.html

    Hugo, Richard.

    “Writing Off the Subject” ualr.edu/rmburns/rb/hsubjt.html

    The Triggering Town ualr.edu/rmburns/rb/htrigt.html

    Whitman, Walt. Song of Myself http://www.english.illinois.edu/maps/poets/s_z/whitman/song.htm

    Walt Whitman: An American Experience. PBS Documentary. www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/whitman/

    Museum of Modern Art. Most viewed exhibits. http://www.moma.org/explore/most_viewed

    Crawford, Matthew. The World Beyond Your Head: On Becoming an Individual in an Age of Distraction. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2015.

    Chapter Two: Images

    A Thesaurus

    Chapter Three: Voice

    Burroway, Janet. Writing Fiction.

    Glossary of Poetry Schools and Movements. The Poetry Foundation. http://www.poetryfoundation.org/learning/glossary-terms?category=schools-and-periods

    Chapter Four: Architecture

    Oliver, Mary. Rules for the Dance. http://maryoliver.beacon.org/2009/11/rules-for-the-dance/

    Longenback, James. The Art of the Poetic Line.https://www.graywolfpress.org/books/art-poetic-line

    Chapter Five: Acoustics

    Pinsky, Robert. The Sounds of Poetry.us.macmillan.com/thesoundsofpoetry/robertpinsky

    Chapter Six: Experimenting with Forms

    Skelton, Robin. The Shapes of Our Singing. www.amazon.com/The-Shapes-Our-Singing-Comprehensive/dp/0910055769

    Strand, Mark and Eavan Boland. The Making of a Poem. http://books.wwnorton.com/books/The-Making-of-a-Poem/

    Chapter Seven: Revision

    The Poet’s Billow. www.thepoetsbillow.org

    Chapter Eight: Publishing

    The Poet’s Market. www.writersdigestshop.com/2015-poets-market

    Poets and Writers www.pw.org

    NewPages.com www.newpages.com

    Chapter Nine: Reading Your Poems to an Audience

    Moyers, Bill. The Language of Life. http://billmoyers.com/series/the-language-of-life-with-bill-moyers-1995/

    The Library of Congress Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature. www.loc.gov/poetry/recorded-poetry/

    The Geraldine R. Dodge Poetry Video Archive. www.dodgepoetry.org/archive/video/

    Poetry Everywhere with Garrison Keillor. PBS. http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/poetryeverywhere/

    • Was this article helpful?