Skip to main content
Humanities LibreTexts

12.7: Chronology

  • Page ID
  • The following chronology is a list of important dates and events associated with this chapter.



    1816 Congress charted the Second Bank of the United States; Congress adopted the Tariff of 1816, an overtly protective tariff; James Monroe elected President
    1819 Supreme Court issued Dartmouth College v. Woodward decision; Supreme Court issued McCulloch v. Maryland decision; Adams-Onís Treaty signed by the United States and Spain; Panic of 1819 caused economic distress throughout the nation
    1820 Congress approved the Missouri Compromise; James Monroe reelected President
    1823 James Monroe issued the Monroe Doctrine
    1824 Supreme Court issued Gibbons v. Ogden decision; John Quincy Adams elected President
    1828 Congress adopted the Tariff of 1828 (Tariff of Abominations); Democratic Party formed to support Andrew Jackson; John C. Calhoun secretly published the South Carolina Exposition and Protest; Andrew Jackson elected President
    1830 Congress passed the Indian Removal Act; Hayne-Webster Debate occurred in Congress; Andrew Jackson vetoed the Maysville Road Bill
    1831 Supreme Court issued Cherokee v. Georgia decision
    1832 Supreme Court issued Worcester v. Georgia decision; Andrew Jackson vetoed the Second Bank of the United States Re-charter Bill; Congress adopted the Tariff of 1832; Andrew Jackson reelected President; South Carolina issued the ordinance of nullification for the Tariffs of 1828
    1833 Congress approved the Tariff of 1833 and the Force Act; South Carolina withdrew its nullification of the tariffs
    1834 The Senate, led by Henry Clay, censured Andrew Jackson; Whig Party formed to oppose Andrew Jackson
    1835 Congress passed the Coinage Act
    1836 Congress adopted the Deposit Act; Andrew Jackson issued the Specie Circular; Martin Van Buren elected President
    1837 Panic of 1837 launched an almost four-year long depression
    1840 Congress approved the Independent Treasury Act; William Henry Harrison elected President
    1841 William Henry Harrison died; John Tyler succeeded him as President
    • Was this article helpful?