Skip to main content
[ "article:topic-guide", "license:ccbysa", "showtoc:no", "authorname:eberger" ]
Humanities Libertexts

4: China and East Asia to the Ming Dynasty

  • Page ID
  • East Asia can be defined in two different ways. Geographically speaking, it can be defined as the eastern region of the Asian continent and the countries located there, principally China, North and South Korea, Taiwan, and Japan. But historians also define East Asia as a broader cultural realm, and include countries that both shared close historical relations with China and were impacted by China’s political and legal institutions, and Confucian and Buddhist traditions. When defined in this way, Vietnam is also included. This chapter, however, as an introduction to the early history of East Asia, will focus on China, Korea, and Japan.

    • Was this article helpful?